August 12, 2016
November 17, 2016
Show all

Building Foundation and Honour Program

Vishwa Shanti Vihar, Min Bhawan, Kathamandu, 15th August 2016 (Shrawan 31, 2073), a grand ceremony was organized to lay the foundation stone of the new campus building to be  constructed with the financial support of the Metropolitan City of Kathmandu.  The event was chaired by the Most Venerable Dr. Jnanapurnika Mahasthavir.  Honourable Mr. Prakash Man Singh, the former Deputy Prime Minister of Nepal graced the event as the chief guest and Mr. Rudra Man Singh Tamang, the chief executive of the Metropolitan City of Kathmandu and Professor Dr. Bhadra Ratna Bajracharya, Dean, LBU,  and Mrs. Srijana Singh were the distinguished guest of the ceremony.

Mr. Mahendra Ratna Shakya, the coordinator of the Theravada Buddhist Academy welcomed all the guests and shed light on the objective of the event as well as the programme of the day.  In this occasion  the honourable Mr. Prakashman Singh expressed his deep satisfaction for sanctioning the fund required for the building during his tenure as the Deputy Prime Minister.  Mr. Rudra Singh Tamang, expressed his joy that the he was able to materialize this project within a very short period of time under the leadership of the honourable Mr. Singh.

Among others, the activities during the event included: Honouring Most Venerable Dr. Jnanapurnika Mahasthavir for being conferred with honourary PhD from Universities of Thailand.   Former Deputy Prime Minister Mr. Singh was also honored with Token of Appreciation for his outstanding contribution to the TBA.  Other activities included: Honouring the noble friends of the TBA with token of love; awarding the letter of  appreciation to the respected professors and lecturers of the TBA, Dr. Reena Tuladhar and Dr. Triratna Manandhar, who were conferred with the degree of PhD and distribution of certificates to the TBA students who passed out in MA. Ms Lalita Dhakwa, Mr. Rojan Shakya and Mrs. Anita Manandhar of the first batch and Ms. Anula Shakya, Mrs. Padma Nakarmi and Mr. Indra Kumar Nakarmi of second batch has placed first, second and third position in the exam respectively and were honoured with token of love. Among these students Ms. Lalita Dhakwa, Mr. Rojan Shakya and Ms. Anula Shakya have passed the exam with distinction division.

Venerable Nigrodha, the honourable Vice President of the Lumbini Development Trust, in his vote of thanks, expressed his gratitude to honorable Mr. Singh, Mr. Tamang and all the others for their untiring support to the TBA and the Vishwa Shanti Vihara.  At the end, the Most Venerable Bhikkhu Dr. Jnanapurnik Mahasthavir concluded the ceremony with his best wishes and blessings to every one.  The event was anchored by Mr. Madan Ratna Manandhar, the associate professor at TBA.